Counting my losses

Having just finished week….uh…three of exercises after work a few days a week, I am already seeing an improvement, and it’s kind of startling me in more ways than one.

First off, I have noticed that I’m less sore the next day. I’m taking this as a good sign that I’m building up stamina and strength. I can, for the most part, do the individual exercises longer or for more reps. It feels pretty good, especially for a girl who never, never has been physically fit. Not really.

Secondly, I’m less winded. Again, I think it’s part of my general physical fitness improving. I’m wheezing less after exercises, which feels great (and there’s less chest pain from the wheezing, which also feels great lol).

Another improvement–which is more quantifiable–is my actual weight. I have lost more than ten pounds in the past couple of weeks. I still need to lose a substantial amount (damn near a whole person, or at least a small person), but that is more improvement than I’ve had in quite some time. My surgical scrubs at work fit better, and I’m not having to do the “pants dance” to get into them as much.

The best part? I’m still motivated!! Normally I’d have given up by now, at least on my own. With my friends and husband joining in and encouraging me, I have no desire to stop. Instead, I look forward to the Monday/Wednesday/Thursday workouts. I’m even truly disappointed if I have to miss an exercise session because of work. Disappointed that I can’t work my ass off! It kind of blows my mind a bit.

I’m really glad that my husband and our friends are there to help and encourage me. Without them cheering me on, I don’t know that I’d be able to do even ten seconds of planking, let alone be pushing a minute some days. Yeah, I’ve only made the whole minute I think once without having to drop to my knees or drop down altogether, but just the fact that I can make it even half a minute is amazing. I can do more push-ups than I ever could before, and exercises that used to have me almost in tears are becoming easier.

Bottom line: I. Feel. Great! If I’d known exercising could have been like this before, I wouldn’t be as obese as I am now!

 

Leave a Reply

