Okay, really truly honestly back to cosplay

I know I keep saying I’m getting back to cosplay sewing…and I generally mean it when I say it. Yesterday afternoon, however, I actually did begin sewing again. Granted, I didn’t get too much sewn–a couple of pockets–but the point is I got back to it.

I have T-minus 9 weeks (approximately) to finish two full outfits. I’m pretty sure I can do it, but it’s going to take some heavy pushing on my part.

My serger has been out of commission for a while due to a bent chaining fork, but that should be remedied today. Then I can work faster on the things that can be serged. Not everything can (those pockets would not have worked on a serger, and I don’t think it’s wise for the corset–at all), but those things that can be serged will go a lot faster.

As for the regular sewing machine, it still seems to be in perfect working order, so that’s good. The bobbin does weird things when I backstitch, so I might have to clean and oil it, but otherwise I’m moving right along with that.

Fabrication is nearly complete. My husband is going to a friend’s house to get some work done on a pauldron for his right shoulder today, and hopefully that’s the last of the leatherworking left to do. My phoenix breastplate is done, the rest of my husband’s steampunk X-Men harness is done, and his steampunk Cyclops goggles will be arriving in the mail before the con (he got some custom ordered from a vendor at a recent steampunk convention). So…it’s all down to me.

I keep telling myself that I’ve got this. It’s just a simple matter of buckling down.

But buckling down sucks. And since my usual best, most productive time is butt-early in the morning before work, I’ve got to get serious about this. Maybe even sew some on surgery days. I don’t get as much time before work then, but any time I can steal from my day is time worth spending now.

Nine weeks and counting. I can do this. I can do this. I can do this…

Leave a Reply

