Pinterest is great for organizing ideas, tips, and tutorials.

It also sucks when you can’t find where or how you organized something important.

So here’s a little backstory: I made a phoenix-shaped breastplate for my Dark Phoenix cosplay. It looks really cool, but I have to make a harness to wear it. I’ve got the leather, got the leather dye, got rivets and buckles and all that fun stuff…but I don’t have the harness tutorial I found months ago.

Fuck.

Luckily, I have enough artistic ability to design something that might work. The problem is figuring out which something will work best. I’m coming up with several different options, and I can’t make up my mind. That’s the tough part of design–settling on an actual design.

think I know what I’m going to do, but until I get the leather straps out and start assembling the thing I won’t know for sure if it’ll work. I’d try a mock-up, but I don’t have any fabric straps that are the same width/length (and I don’t want to cut into the leather until I’m ready). I suppose I could dig the leather straps out of the bag they’re in, but they’re in the bottom of a bag in a bag that’s packed up for going over to a friend’s house today to work on it.

Yeah. Queen of last-minute crunching. I’ve had months to figure this out, and I’m only just sitting down and getting serious about it now. FML.

I’ll get it done, it’s just frustrating that I had such a good tutorial with step-by-step pics and I lost it somehow. Maybe I forgot to pin it when I found it? Who knows at this point.

Leave a Reply

