Cold blooded and calculating

Damn! I didn’t know how truly evil my new antagonist was until she started revealing more of her story to me this morning.

This plan of hers has apparently been in the works for over a year (in novel time). She is smooth and conniving, to the point where she even had me fooled. For you non-writers, you may think I’m batshit crazy, but I assure you that this is a real thing for many authors. Characters can surprise you even though they’re creations of your own mind. New details come to the surface that you hadn’t previously considered, and when they do it all fits together quite nicely.

The same thing happened with my first novel. A minor character decided to show up and save the day at the last minute, despite me having no plans for such a thing to happen. Fictional characters, it seems, will not be silenced.

Bonus: I have an antagonist that will last me through several books, not just this one and the next.

Yes, I’m planning at least one more book (heretofore referred to as “book 3”) and most likely two or three more. This story is going to span generations, which I am excited for. I get to explore growth and development in a way that, as a non-parent, I haven’t experienced. Fuck the whole “write what you know” b.s., right? 😉

Guess I’ll get back to my antag and see what she’s been up to.

Leave a Reply

