Socially awkward experiment

I’ll be the first to admit that my social skills are more than “somewhat” lacking…so how do I improve them?

Well, little ol’ me is taking to the Internet–to “social” media–to find out.

That’s right, I’m going to try to hone my nonexistent social skills by talking to people who can’t see me. It’s a step in the right direction, right?

So here’s how it goes: I’m going to try to initiate more conversations (something I rarely ever do). I’m going to try to remind myself to ask about the people I’m talking to and how they themselves are doing (something I tend to forget to do). I’m going to try to restrain myself from making the conversation about me (something I inevitably do). And…I’m going to try to figure out what the heck a “normal” human being would do in whatever type of conversation I’m having.

This experiment (of sorts) should prove interesting. Can I un-train 37 years of social bumbling and make myself into someone worth conversing with? And will I learn a valuable lesson about friendship and all that jazz in the process?

We shall see.

2 thoughts on “Socially awkward experiment

  1. youd be surprised how good a plan this is. once youve dealt with an army of trolls online, for more than a year, it desensitizes you quite a lot to idiots in the real world. youll still be human, youll still care about things, but youll have a thicker skin (even if its not impenetrable.)

    also learning to care/interact/have conversation with other people (both more reasonable ones and less reasonable ones) is good practice for far more than just tolerating idiots. but if i had any advice it would be– dont limit yourself to one platform. different sites have different personalities and styles of community. oh, and i will never recommend reddit to anyone ever again. reddit was great. dont waste more than an hour there, you will never get it back. i cant really vouch for facebook either, but some people like it.

    Like

  2. Uh…guess my communication skills really ARE lacking. I never said anything about trolls. Trolls I can deal with. I’m talking about normal human interaction. And I never said anything about using only one site. o_O Not sure where that’s coming from…

    Like

Leave a Reply

