Triggered

Okay, I gotta stand up and post about this, ’cause it’s relevant to, like, life.

Calling someone “bipolar” as an insult is shitty. A lowdown, ignorant, dumb-ass shitty thing to do. I don’t care how batshit crazy the person may be, you don’t just use a legitimate medical condition as an insult. Fuck you, random guy at Chili’s.

To my credit, I didn’t get up from the table and ream him out. I restrained myself…as a bipolar person is perfectly capable of doing.

It really bugs me when people do that, especially when they act like it’s something wrong. Like a bipolar person is automatically off their nut and can’t function in society. That’s bullshit. Complete and utter bullshit. There’s nothing more “wrong” about bipolar disorder than there is about, say, the color of your skin or hair or something. It’s a part of a person and that’s cool. Well, it’s not “cool,” but I’m cool with it. You have a mental illness? Okay. That’s part of who you are and none of my business, really. You be you.

So I guess it’s a short rant today. Don’t be a dick and use mental illness–or any illness–as an insult. Especially not when the person sitting in the booth next to yours might very well have that illness and you don’t even know because they’re perfectly normal and okay just the way they are.

One thought on “Triggered

  1. I call those who call others bipolar as an insult orcs. And then i ship them back to Mordor.
    Seriously, you deserve so much better than this.

    ヾ(・ω・)メ(・ω・)ノ

    Like

Leave a Reply

