Story Fodder

I’ve decided to turn this election outcome–one I had not wanted to become reality–into inspiration for my dystopian WIP. Got thrown some lemons, so here I am borrowing a cup of sugar from the Muses to make lemonade. Or something.

Oddly enough, I had started world building with this very situation in mind. A “what if” of sorts, only now the “what if” is “what is.” It gives me a platform to base my story on, though the main plot of the story has nothing to do with today’s politics. It takes place over a hundred years from now, but the unfolding of events will give me plenty of inspiration to guide my future world into a place that could possibly exist, given the current state of affairs.

I’m not trying to be defeatist. Things might not go to shit right now, or even in a hundred years. This is fiction that I’m writing. That’s the beauty of fiction: it can be whatever you want it to be. I’m warping reality to suit my needs.

Which reminds me, I have to go back and put the political pieces that are a part of the story into their places in the puzzle. Not being a fan of politics in general, I’ve been subconsciously avoiding that very thing. Here I go, though, diving in keys first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

