Hemingwaying it

I’ll admit: I’ve been drinking this evening. I got a another thousand or so words added to my work in progress, which is great. Unfortunately, I still hit a road block.

I’m not meeting even half of the word count requirement for this to be a novel. Sure, I could make it a novella, but I’m determined to write a novel. I think I can do it, but it will take a lot of revision. I see places where I could improve, where I could add more detail or character development into the story, but I worry that it still won’t be enough.

My goal for the first completed draft was the end of the year. I still have a little over eight months, but this story is screaming to be let out. Maybe if I can just get it out to begin with, then go back and elaborate where needed, I’ll hit a respectable word count.

2 thoughts on “Hemingwaying it

    1. I’m one of those annoying revise-as-you-go people, so I think I’ll be ok. I’m going to go back to the earlier chapters I’ve written and see what I can work in. I know there are weak areas, so having that awareness will help I think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

